Setting up your clients in LivePlan

Setting up clients in LivePlan is a two-step process. The first step is to create a business plan for your client to work on (create a company). The second step is to invite the client to access their company through your account (add a Contributor). Use the guide below to make sure that things are set up correctly:

In this article:

Creating a company

  1. After signing into the LivePlan site license account for your organization, in the left-hand sidebar menu, click on the company drop-down, and then click View all companies:
    Select company from new sidebar.png

  2. This will take you to a page where you’ll name the company, set the starting forecast settings, and decide which users should have access to the plan. Make sure to click the “Create Company” icon in the top-right to complete the company setup
    2022-07-12_10-04-19.png

Adding Contributors

  1. After you have created the company (you may decide to use the name of your client for their company name; you can change this name later), on the left of the LivePlan screen, click Invite Users:
    Arrow pointed to invite users.png

  2. Click “Add a Contributor”. An overlay will appear where you enter the email address for your client (so that they will receive an invitation to sign-in)
    contributor message.png

  3. On that screen, you should ONLY check the following boxes:
    1. See actual financial results 
    2. Give them access to the company that you created for them
      2022-07-12_10-12-47.png

      DO NOT give the client access to “Create and manage companies” or “Add and manage users”
    3. Click Send Invitation
  4. The contributor will receive an email invitation containing a link to your LivePlan account.  LivePlan also immediately displays the link for you so you can copy and paste it into your email or direct message to the person.
  5. Once the contributor clicks the link and creates login credentials, access will be granted, and the person will be added to your list of users.
  6. When your client is finished in LivePlan, make sure to archive their plan, which will free up that seat for another client to use.
    1. At the top of your LivePlan window, click on the name of your current active company. Next, click View all companies:
      view all companies.png

    2. Under the desired company, click Archive:
      all companies menu with archive highlighted.png

Viewing the status of an invitation

When you invite an advisor or client to your SBDC master account, the invitation remains active for 30 days. You can check on its status at any time by visiting the Users page of the master account.

  1. Click the Account menu and select Manage Account:
    Arrow Pointing to manage account.png

  2. In the sidebar of the account management page, click Users:
    account menu edit users highlighted.png

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the Users page. If the user has not accepted the invitation, you'll see "Invitation Pending" along with their email address, as shown below:
    user menu with invitation pending highlighted.png

    Note: If the invitation has expired after 30 days, you can click the Resend/Edit Invitation link to generate a new invitation.

  4. If the user has accepted the invitation, you'll see their name alongside their email address, as shown below:
    contributor invitation accepted detail.png

  5. To exit the account management page, click I'm Done in the upper right corner:
    manage account menu with back arrow highlighted.png

For more info:

LivePlan Support

  • Click here to visit our LivePlan Help Center.
  • Our customer advocacy team is available to assist you Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm Pacific Time. Click here to reach support.

Additional resources for starting a plan



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful