Removing chapters, sections, or topics from your plan outline Follow

If there are chapters, sections, or topics in the outline that you don’t want included in your plan, it is very easy to remove them. Removed chapter or section headings will be permanently deleted from your outline. (If you want to re-instate these later, you can easily re-create them.)

Note: As a non-permanent option, you may want to simply hide some chapters in your plan when you download it instead.

When you remove a topic, it will no longer appear as part of your plan’s printed output, but any information you have already entered in the topic will be saved. Other users on your account will be able to view the contents of any removed topic, and you can restore it back into your plan at any time.

What are chapters, sections, and topics?

To see an editable view of your outline, click on the Outline section of the Plan tab:

plan-tab-outline-link.png#asset:1982

In this view, you will see the same outline with the chapters, sections, and topics in place.This screen shot shows you how the parts of the outline are named, which will be useful to know as you use the instructions below:

update-outline-structure.png

 

Removing a standard chapter or section:

  1. In the Plan tab, click Outline:  
    plan-tab-outline-link.png#asset:1982
  2. Click on the chapter or section you want to remove.  
  3. Drag the chapter or section to the left sidebar. Drop it there. A warning message will appear, as shown below:

remove-chapter-or-section__1_.gif

Once you have deleted a chapter or section, all topics contained in it will also be removed. You will see, however, that all the topics (and any text you've entered into them) will be saved to the left sidebar, in alphabetical order, as Available Content:

outline-removed-items-in-ac.png#asset:19

 

Removing a standard topic:

  1. In the Plan tab, click Outline:
      plan-tab-outline-link.png#asset:1982
  2. Click on the topic you want to remove.
  3. Drag the topic to the left sidebar. Drop it there:
    outline-remove-item.gif#asset:1940
  4. The change will be saved automatically, and the topic and any text you've entered into it will be retained in the Available Content sidebar.

 

Removing a custom chapter, section, or topic

If you create a custom chapter, section, or topic for your plan and decide to remove it later, any text you have entered in the topic will be saved in the Available Content list. Custom chapter and section headings will be deleted, but you can restore them if needed.

  1. In the Plan tab, click Outline:
       plan-tab-outline-link.png#asset:1982
  2. Click on the custom chapter, section, or topic you want to remove.  
  3. Drag the custom chapter, section, or topic to the left sidebar. Drop it there. If you are deleting a chapter or section, a warning message will appear:

    remove-custom-chapter__1_.gif

  4. Click Confirm to save the change. Although the chapter or section heading will be deleted, any custom topics you've created within it will automatically be saved in the Available Content list.

 

Deleting a custom topic

If you've created a custom topic and then removed it from your plan outline, that topic and any text you've entered into it will be retained in the Available Content sidebar, in the Topics section. If you'd like to delete this topic and its text permanently, follow these steps:

  1. Mouse over the custom topic in the sidebar. A small trash can icon will appear:
  2. Click that icon. An overlay will appear to warn you that the topic and text will be deleted permanently. Click Confirm to process the deletion:

 

More on editing the plan outline:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.