Adding and removing contributors and guests Follow

There are three user roles within LivePlan, and each one has its own level of access: 

  • Account Owner: Each account can have only one owner. The owner is the only one with access to the account management tools, such as cancelling or upgrading the account and changing payment information.

    The owner can also create, delete, archive and restore companies, and edit or delete her own comments, as well as those of guests and contributors. The owner counts as one Contributor on the account.

 

  • Contributor: Contributors can access and edit anything in an account except the owner’s profile data and the billing and payment information. If the owner grants them the additional level of access, contributors can even create new companies, add new users, and view and edit the Benchmarks and Dashboard. They can also download a copy of the plan.

    The standard monthly LivePlan account comes with two Contributors. (one of whom is the account owner). The standard annual account comes with five Contributors (again, one of these is the account owner.) The account owner can upgrade the account to add more. 

 

  • Guest: Guests can view the Pitch, Forecast, and Schedule tabs, and view and post comments in the Plan tab. They can also download a copy of the plan. It the owner grants them the additional level of access, guests can view the Benchmarks and Dashboard tabs as well. Guests can’t edit any content, or access any account management details. Each LivePlan account comes with unlimited guest passes.

 

Adding a contributor to your account

Contributors can access and edit anything in an account except the owner’s profile data and the billing and payment information. The number of contributors is limited by your current user limit — which you can change at any time

To add a contributor:

  1. In the top right corner of the LivePlan screen, click Invite Users:
    invite-users-button__1_.png 
  2. Click Add a Contributor:

    contributor-add-button__1_.png
    Note: The number of available user/contributor “slots” for your account is listed next to the Add a Contributor button. You can only send as many invitations as you have slots open. If you need additional slots for contributors, click the Upgrade options link to upgrade your account. 
     
  3. In the Add a Contributor overlay, do the following:
    • Enter the contributor’s email address.
    • Include a message to the person in the Personal Note field, if you wish:
      contributor-add_copy.png
    • Check the boxes to specify whether the contributor should be able to add and edit users, create new companies, and/or access the Dashboard and benchmarks. These are optional access points.
    • Select the companies the contributor should have access to. (This is a required step. If you don't specify a company, your contributor will not be able to access any company in your account.)
    • Click Send Invitation:
      invite-users-form__1_.png
    The contributor will receive an email invitation containing a link to your LivePlan account. LivePlan also immediately displays the link for you, so you can copy and paste it into your own IM or email to the person.
  4. Once the contributor clicks the link and creates login credentials, access will be granted and the person will be added to your list of users.

 

Adding a guest to your account

You can invite as many guests as you'd like to view your company and comment on your plan document.

To add a guest:

  1. In the top right corner of the LivePlan screen, click Invite Users:
    invite-users-button__1_.png
  2. Click Add a Guest:
    add-guest-button__1_.png
  3. In the Add a Guest overlay that appears, do the following:
    • Enter the contributor’s email address.
    • Include a message to the person in the Personal Note field, if you wish:
      add-a-guest-note__1_.png
    • Select whether the guest should be able to add and edit users, create new companies, and/or access the Dashboard and benchmarks. These are optional access points.
    • Select the companies the guest should have access to. (This is a required step. If you don't specify a company, your guest will not be able to access any company in your account.)
    • Click Send Invitation:
      invite-users-form__1_.png

The guest will receive an email invitation containing a link to your LivePlan account. LivePlan also immediately displays the link for you, so you can copy and paste it into your own IM or email to the person.

Once the guest clicks the link and creates login credentials, access will be granted and the person will be added to your list of users.

 

Changing a guest to a contributor, or vice versa

The best way to change a user's level of access is to remove their current invitation, as shown below, and then send them a new one with the new level of access. This is how you'd change a guest to a contributor, or a contributor to a guest. For more details, see Changing a user's role.

 

Removing a contributor or guest

When you remove a contributor or guest from your LivePlan account, any changes that person has made to your company content will be retained, but the user will no longer be able to view or change the company content.

  1. From the Account menu, choose Manage Account:
    manage-acct-menu.png 
  2. In the sidebar of the account management page, click Users:
    users-sidebar.png
  3. Next to the user, click Change access
    changeaccess.png
  4. In the overlay that appears, mouse over the trash can icon and then click Remove user:
    remove-user__1_.gif
  5. Click Confirm.

Note: Contributors and guests are not notified when you remove them from your account.

 

More on collaborating with others:

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 6 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.