This handy glossary will explain the terms Outpost uses throughout the app.
Administrator: A role you can assign to people using your Outpost account. Administrators can add mailboxes and other users to the account, as well as reply to, forward, and manage conversations in the mailboxes assigned to them. They can also edit which users can access mailboxes in the account.
Archive: Resolving a conversation is basically closing it. You’d archive a conversation when there are no further replies to send or actions to take. Once you archive a conversation, it will appear only in your account’s Archived folder. (And yes, you can move an archived conversation back to your Inbox at any time.)
Assignment: Account Owners and Administrators can assign specific conversations to other users to handle. Once a conversation is assigned, it’s still visible within its mailbox, but it bears a label showing the user assigned to it.
Conversation: A conversation is basically a container, which holds the original message sent, all replies and forwards to that message, any notes your team has added, and an automated history of all actions related to the conversation.
Conversation Toolbar: When you're viewing any conversation, you'll see a toolbar of options at the top. The Mail Toolbar options include Move, Mark as Unread, Spam, Delete, and Archive.
Digest: You can create digests, which are hourly or daily email notifications that summarize the current conversations in your Outpost account. You can customize your digests to include specific mailboxes, conversations assigned to you, etc.
Draft: A reply or forward that hasn’t yet been sent. Drafts are stored in the conversation where they were created. Any user can access, edit, and send any draft.
Draft Editor: When you've started a draft or return to one later to work on it, you'll be working in the Draft Editor.
Folder: Area in your account where certain types of conversations are organized. Your account folders are: Inbox, Drafts, Starred, Sent, Archived, Spam, and Trash. You can also access an All Folders view
History: Outpost records every transaction within a conversation, from the time it’s first sent or received, through every draft, reply, or forward. History will also show any time a conversation is assigned to a specific user, and each time a conversation is archived, reopened, marked as spam, or deleted. Each conversation contains a display of its history.
Mailbox: Each mailbox in your Outpost account represents a unique email address. The mailbox contains all conversations sent to (and from) that address.
Message: A message is any single segment you might write in a conversation - the term can apply to the original email, or any replies or forwards.
Note: Within each conversation, users can add notes, which are internal messages attached to the conversation. Notes are a great way to communicate with your team about a conversation without having that information visible to your customer.
Notifications: When a conversation is assigned to you, Outpost generates a Notification that displays in the app. For more details, see Receiving User Notifications.
Owner: An Outpost account has only one Owner - that’s the person being billed for the account. An Owner has the same permissions as account Administrators.
Preferences: Each Outpost user has access to a Preferences page, where they can customize the account name, email address, default mailbox, time zone, and email signature.
Preview card: In any folder page of Outpost, the list of conversations contained within it are displayed as small blocks. The preview card contains an at-a-glance summary of the original sender, the number of replies or forwards, the number of drafts, and whether the conversation has been Read, Unread, or Starred.
Saved Search: You can search a word (or string of words) in Outpost, and then save that search. Whenever you refer to that saved search in the future, it will contain a constantly updating list of conversations that match your search query. You also have the option to share a saved search with your team.
Spam: Unwanted emails from senders you don’t know are commonly referred to as “spam.” You can move emails like this to your Spam folder in Outpost any time.
Starred: Starring is basically marking a conversation so that you can quickly locate it later on. When you mark a conversation with a Star, it will then appear in your Starred folder in Outpost.
Template: A template is a pre-written, pre-formatted block of text you store in your Outpost account. A template can be a single paragraph, or an entire reply. You can easily apply any template to a message you’re composing.
Trash: Trashing is a preliminary step to deleting a conversation. Outpost offers a two-step deletion process to help prevent you from deleting a conversation accidentally. When you delete, the conversation will move to your Trash folder, where it’s held for 30 days before being deleted permanently.
User: The term “user” has two meanings in Outpost: the more general term “user” refers to any team member who’s been added to your Outpost account, regardless of permissions. The more specific “User” refers to a team member who’s been granted access to reply to, forward, and manage conversations in the mailboxes assigned to them. Users can't add, edit, or remove an account's mailboxes or users.