To prevent accidental deletions, deleting is a two-step process in Outpost. When you first delete a conversation, it will be moved to your Trash folder, where it will be stored for 30 days. During that period, you can locate it there and restore it to your inbox if needed.
After 30 days in the Trash folder, a conversation is automatically deleted and can no longer be recovered.
Account owners and Administrators can permanently delete a conversation from the Trash folder at any time. Once you've permanently deleted a conversation, it cannot be recovered.
If there are replies attached to the conversation that you might need to reference later, you may want to Archive the conversation rather than deleting it.
Moving a conversation to the Trash folder:
- In the conversation toolbar, click Trash:
- The conversation will move to the Trash folder:
Note: Conversations will be stored in the Trash folder for 30 days, and then deleted permanently.
Recovering a conversation from the Trash folder:
- From within the Trash folder, click on the preview card of the conversation you want to restore:
- In the conversation toolbar, click the inbox icon:
- The conversation will move to mailbox it was originally deleted from.
Deleting a conversation permanently:
Within the Trash folder, account owners and Administrators have the option to delete a conversation permanently. Once it’s permanently deleted, a conversation can’t be recovered.
- From within the Trash folder, click on the preview card for the conversation you want to delete permanently.
- In the conversation toolbar, click the trash can icon:
- The conversation will be permanently removed and not recoverable.